It's official! We have moved to our new District website, now located at acpsd.net. Please take a moment to visit and explore our new online home for updated information on all items related to Aiken County Public Schools.
As a reminder, our individual school web pages will continue to link back to School Fusion (hosted at this site) until the start of the new school year when all school-related pages will make the transition to our new web platform.
Thank you for your continued interest in and support of Aiken County Public Schools, and welcome to acpsd.net! †
SAHS Attendance Policy
Lawful and Unlawful Absences
To maintain full-time status at South Aiken High School, students must be enrolled and attend school regularly. A minimum of six (6) units for 9-11th graders and (4) units for seniors, is required. State mandates noted below allow a student to miss a total of 10 days in a year-long class, and 5 days in a semester class. The 10 day total of allowable absences INCLUDES absences for which parents write a note. All absences - both lawful and unlawful - are included in this total. Attendance is recorded on a class-by-class basis, and students must attend each class a minimum number of days shown belos in order to be eligible to receive consideration for credit and/or promotion.
Lawful Absences (all the following require written documentation):
Denial of Credit:
Students who mail to meet the minimum attendance requirements outlined on this page may nor recieve credit for the class(es) in which the requirements are not met. Credit is not denied automatically, only administration can deny a student's credit. Students with attendance problems will receive written notification and be called to the principal's office for a conference. Students with attendance concerns should continue to attend class regularly until an appointment with administration to verify credit.
SAHS Tardy Policy
Students have 5 minutes to change classes. Students are encouraged to go to lockers before school, after school, or on the way to lunch to avoid arriving tardy to class. Students found outside of classrooms after the tardy bell has rung are able to report to the sweep booth at the main entrance, where they sign in and then receive a pass to class. Studens reporting to class tardy are to give their pass to their teacher:
1st-3rd Offense - Warning
4-5th Offense - Lunch Dentention
6-8th Offense - 1 Day In-School Suspension
9-10th Offense - 2 Days In-School Suspension
11-12th Offense - 1 Day Out-of-School Suspension
13th Offense - 3 Days Out-of-School Suspension
14th Offense - 5 Days Out-of-School Suspension
15th Offense - Reccomendation for Expulsion
South Carolina Attendance Laws
ATTENDANCE OF PUPILS
SECTION 59-65-10. Responsibility of parent or guardian; notification by school district of availability of kindergarten; transportation for kindergarten pupils.
(A) All parents or guardians shall cause their children or wards to attend regularly a public or private school or kindergarten of this State which has been approved by the State Board of Education or a member school of the South Carolina Independent Schools' Association or some similar organization, or a parochial, denominational, or church-related school, or other programs which have been approved by the State Board of Education from the school year in which the child or ward is five years of age before September first until the child or ward attains his seventeenth birthday or graduates from high school. A parent or guardian whose child or ward is not six years of age on or before the first day of September of a particular school year may elect for their child or ward not to attend kindergarten. For this purpose, the parent or guardian shall sign a written document making the election with the governing body of the school district in which the parent or guardian resides. The form of this written document must be prescribed by regulation of the Department of Education. Upon the written election being executed, that child or ward may not be required to attend kindergarten.
(B) Each school district shall provide transportation to and from public school for all pupils enrolled in public kindergarten classes who request the transportation. Regulations of the State Board of Education governing the operation of school buses shall apply.
SECTION 59-65-20. Penalty for failure to enroll or cause child to attend school.
Any parent or guardian who neglects to enroll his child or ward or refuses to make such child or ward attend school shall, upon conviction, be fined not more than fifty dollars or be imprisoned not more than thirty days; each day's absence shall constitute a separate offense; provided, the court may in its discretion suspend the sentence of anyone convicted of the provisions of this article
SECTION 59-65-70. Court empowered to declare child delinquent.
If the court determines that the reported absence occurred without the knowledge, consent or connivance of the responsible parent or guardian or that a bona fide attempt has been made to control and keep the child in school, the court may declare such child to be a delinquent and subject to the provisions of law in such cases.
A child’s absence from school may not be considered abuse or neglect unless the school has made efforts to bring about the child’s attendance and those efforts were unsuccessful because of the parent’s refusal to cooperate.
SECTION 16-13-10. Forgery
A. It is unlawful for a person to:
1. Falsely make, forge, or counterfeit; cause or procure to be falsely make, forged, or counterfeited; or willfully act or assist in the false making, forging, or counterfeiting of any writing or instrument of writing.
2. utter or publish as true any false, forged, or counterfeited writing or instrument of writing;
3. falsely make, forge, counterfeit, alter, change, deface or erase; or cause or procure to be falsely made, forged, counterfeited, altered, changed, defaced or erased any record or plat of land; or
4. Willingly act or assist in any of the premises, with an intention to defraud any person.
B. A person who violated the provisions of this section is guilty of a:
1. felony, and upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both, if the amount of the forgery is five thousand dollars or more;
2. felony and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than five years, or both, if the amount of the forgery is less than five thousand dollars.
If the forgery does not involve a dollar amount, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, must be fined in the discretion of the court or imprisoned not more than three years, or both.
No "Files" exist(s)